More money than wit? – 18 Nov 2023.

Having mostly got up to date with what’s been happening in the shed there’s one more tale to tell. I saw the reamains of a Superalce for sale on that well known auction site and ended up winning it. I travelled into England to collect the parts and have spent a week or so dismantling, cleaning and storing the parts. Despite being short on space I’m salting the parts away. You never know…

Anyway there’s a set of leg shields, the skeleton of a pillion seat, a complete gearbox and most of an engine. There’s a frame and some fork parts as well.

I do actually ride my bikes as well.

Early in the summer all the bikes, V7 700, the V7Sport and the BSA (for I still have it) were treated to a service and readied for use. The trailer also got a going over – bearings greased etc.

On the Fire Bike (V7 700) I found that the rear brake pedal wasn’t fully returning again although it wasn’t making contact and dragging. Setting to with penetrating fluid and plenty of wiggling the pedal seemed to cure that but I think I’m going to have to come up with a proper cure for this. Perhaps I should drill the mounting in the frame and fit a grease nipple. I’ll give it some thought.

The Racing Rhino’s (V7sport) clutch woes seem to have gone away after I gave it a white spirit bath. The BSA was treated to anew front tyre.

I attended the usual local bike nights when I could and went for a few rides with no particular purpose. As you do.

I managed to get to three MGCGB events this year. The Summer Camp in July which was one of the wettest weekends I’ve spent under canvas for a long time.

In August I hitched up the trailer and went over to Derbyshire for Guzzifest. This was much more pleasant.

Finally, in September it was time for the Red Kite Weekend here in Wales. It was another soggy weekend but this time I had a room in the hotel. While that meant I didn’t have to deal with all that wet equipment I did feel a little cut off from everyone else.

Leave a comment