MGCGB Guzzi Festival – 19 to 21 Aug 2016.

I attended a very wet first Guzzi Festival last weekend on the edge of the Forest of Dean. It was only about 110 miles each way for me but probably 170 miles of this was in the rain. Then there was a wet ride out on the Saturday. Luckily my waterproofs are good. By my reckoning about 200 brave souls were there and we had a good time.

You can’t do anything about the weather. “Once you accept you’re going to get wet, you might as well enjoy the ride” (adapted from a Samurai saying?).

It was the first time I had dragged the trailer (the tuperware trolley?) behind The Fire Bike. Pleased to say this went without incident. Once loaded it weighed 80Kg (which is less than me) so is actually about the same as carrying a pillion while not having the weight actually on the bike. The nose weight was 14kg so I didn’t even have to increase the preload on the rear shocks. It’s also only about an inch wider than the bikes fairing. I didn’t notice any real performance difference. The bike is best at the 55mph mark anyway. My fears about the brakes were also totally unfounded. I had the luxury of being able to carry what I wanted but resisted the urge to allow the camping gear to grow to fill the space available!

Happily, there was a lull in the rain so I could get set up in the dry. Both my tent and the bike are facing SW ready for the predicted gale force winds. It did get a bit rough!

DSCF2953

I didn’t take many photos of bikes at the event due to the weather. However there was some interesting stuff there. My favourite was this 1924/5 Guzzi Sport (500). Remember, Guzzi only began manufacture in 1921.

New_1_DSCF2956

Erm, “secure” parking for my V7, Seb’s Ambassador and the Guzzi Sport on the Saturday night.

New_1_DSCF2958

You could have “knocked me down with a feather” when I won an award again! My V7 and trailer won the Chairman’s choice award. A significant amount of alcohol had been taken by the time I had to go and claim it and I did my best to walk in a straight line.

DSCF2960

Leave a Reply

