2nd Marches Italia bike meet – 5 Jun 2016.

Today I climbed aboard the Racing Rhino and headed over to The Powys Arms in Lydbury North, Shropshire, for the 2nd Marches Italia bike meet. I went last year on The Fire Bike and, like then, the weather was perfect.

The 85 mile run there was enjoyable with surprisingly little traffic about. My route takes me up the coast of Wales to Aberystwyth then inland to Llangurig and Newtown. Then on to Bishop’s Castle and Lydbury North.The weather forecast was for rain on the Welsh coast for my return but I managed to make it home just as the first drops fell. At times today it did feel like my main purpose in life was to kill as many flies as possible. You should see the state of my riding kit!

The meet takes place in the pub car park. You can see that the turn-out was pretty good.

DSCF2566-1

DSCF2563-1

The Rhino was parked among friends.

DSCF2564-1

There were plenty of Guzzis. I took photos of some of the older ones.

DSCF2559-1

DSCF2542-1

DSCF2544-1

DSCF2549-1

DSCF2552-1

This is a Quota-engined T3 hybrid.

DSCF2554-1

DSCF2558-1

DSCF2560-1

DSCF2562-1

Then there were the Ducatis.

DSCF2543-1

DSCF2550-1

DSCF2551-1

DSCF2555-1

There were a couple of Laverdas. I particularly liked this one.

DSCF2556-1

Big and little Morinis.

DSCF2561-1

There was a lot of more modern stuff which was nice to see as well. I enjoyed my chats with old Guzzi friends, made a couple of new ones and was able to put a faces to those I’ve only met via the web.

Leave a Reply

