All legal – 23 Feb 2016.

Well, after all this time, Rhino is legally back on the road. Before I come to that, I made a change to the side stand stop that I made out of an exhaust clamp. I just felt that the stand, when retracted, was too close to the chrome exhaust header.

I had already wrapped some amalgamating tape around it to quieten down the clank when the stand springs back and now I rotated the extra exhaust clamp so that the bolt head acted as the stop.

DSCF2220-1

This did the trick but now the stand seemed too far from the exhaust. I swapped the bolt supplied with the clamp for a cap-head type which made all the difference.

DSCF2224-1

DSCF2222-1

Yesterday, I phoned my insurance company and added road risks to the cover on Rhino. He had been covered for damage, fire and theft but not for road use till now. I was pleasantly surprised when I was told there was no additional premium to pay. Apparently this is because I was already paying enough based on the agreed value.

Next, I called in on my local bike MOT tester, Richard, who said to bring the bike over in the afternoon, which I did. I like to use him because he’s enthusiastic about old bikes, thorough but reasonable, clearly enjoys what he does and is just 8 miles away down mainly country lanes. He also remembers my name which I like.

I got myself and the bike ready then realised I don’t have a mirror. It’s not a requirement in the UK on a bike of this age but, I’m not as flexible as I once was and feel safer with one. I pinched the right hand mirror from The Fire Bike and clamped it to the bars temporarily. Turns out that it has just the right amount of reach to be useful although it may not be very elegant.

DSCF2226-1

DSCF2227-1

The bike passed it’s MOT (UK road-worthiness test) after we set the headlamp using the garage beam-setter. This was despite the discovery of one slightly loose spoke in the rear wheel. We could have tightened it there and then but I was concerned about whether the end of the spoke would poke a hole in the tube.

I had forgotten just how “strong” a V7Sport engine feels. That’s not just compared to my V7 loop but also the 850 engined S3 I used to have. This original 750 engine hadn’t run since 1979 when the chrome detached from the barrels, ruined the crank, and was replaced by the T3 engine which went into the S3 many years later. I’m going to enjoy this.

The re-lined brakes are fantastic even though they’ve still got to bed in properly.

I’ll have to take it easy for a bit as everything’s only just been rebuilt. Also the tyres, though just legal, are old (2003) so I shall have to change them soon.

The final step was to tax Rhino. I did this on line today which was painless as he’s registered as an historic vehicle at a tax rate of £0.

Leave a Reply

