Fuel cap and lines – 2 Jan 2016.

Fuel tank cap.

Early last year I bought a stainless steel filler cap for Rhino at the Stafford Show. The original, although not too bad, would need chroming. The replacements available are all for the narrower filler on later bikes but you can change the innards over. I was offered a cap with or without a lock so thought I might as well get the locked sort.Here are the original and replacement. The photo makes the old one look quite good.

DSCF1410

DSCF1411

As it turns out, this makes things difficult as the lock barrel prevents the guts of the old cap being fitted. This is what they look like dismantled.

DSCF1414-1

I decided that, if I made up a new version of the larger seal with a hole for the lock, this could be added to the new locking cap. You still need the redundant smaller seal though. Here you can just see that the old larger seal has been marked out to show where it needs to be cut.

DSCF1417-1

I didn’t actually cut the old seal but made a new one from Viton sheet. I’ve used this stuff before and it stands up to modern petrol well. I cut the holes using the hollow punches I bought for making gaskets. Of course it means I still have all the parts to reassemble the original cap.

DSCF2110-1

Here are the bits ready for the modified locking cap.

DSCF2112-1

Then put together.

DSCF2113-1

DSCF2114-1

DSCF2115-1

To fit the cap to the tank I had to remove some paint. The hinge pin of the filler cap slides into the slot at the front of the tank fitting and it hooks over a rod fitted to the hole toward the back of the tank fitting. You can see the rod here.

DSCF2102-1

Fitted to the tank.

DSCF2103-1

DSCF2106-1

DSCF2108-1

The catch for the filler removed some paint from the lip.

DSCF2105-1

I had been expecting this because the tank filler wasn’t painted originally. Well, it’s never had any paint during the time I’ve owned the bike. That’s since 1978.

Fuel taps.

The V7Sport came with an electrically operated fuel tap on the left and a manual tap on the right. This gives a supply should the tap fail and lets you access the reserve capacity. The original manual tap has the outlet snapped off as has the replacement I had been using.

DSCF2117-1

I bought a reproduction tap but found that the length of the “reserve pipe” is shorter than that on the electric tap.

DSCF2116-1

The pipe and filter from an original tap won’t fit. This means I now have to remember that, if I’m running on the manual tap, the reserve capacity is less. I could fit a longer piece of pipe and leave off the filter. As the tank is clean inside and there are filters on the carb inlets, this probably would be fine. However, I’ve kept things as they are. The taps are fitted with a strange nut which has a normal thread at the top and a left hand thread at the bottom. A new seal is fitted to the top of the tap and the special nut allows the tap to be fitted with the lever where you can get at it.

DSCF2118-1

I fitted the electrically operated tap as well and wired it up. When I turned the ignition there wasn’t the “clonk” I used to hear as it worked. I took it off again and dismantled it.

DSCF2120-1

All seems OK. I reassembled it and tried blowing through it, current on and off, which confirmed it’s working properly.

DSCF2122-1

Fuel lines.

Much time was spent making fuel lines. I had to take the tank off and my non-flexible wrist made things difficult. I tried to make the lines out of modern ethanol-proof hose but this is designed for fuel injection and is just too rigid. I had to go back to my stock of old braided hose and, after trial and error, made this.

DSCF2124-1

The hose lengths to the fuel taps were left over size to be trimmed when the tank is back on. It’s always the fixing to the left carb that needs to be sorted out first because it’s on the inside and difficult to get at.

DSCF2128-1

The right hand side is no trouble at all.

DSCF2127-1

The hoses to the tank were shortened and hooked up.

DSCF2129-1

DSCF2130-1

I’m getting very tempted to fire the bike up! They say patience is a virtue so I shall wait till all is finished as there’s not much more to do. I need to

  • Make up and fit a battery holder of some sort.
  • Clean up and repaint the underside of the seat.
  • Fit the number plate.
  • Check the oils and adjust everything.

But I’m sure I’ll find something else before I invite friends round for the grand start-up. Or maybe not. It’s best not to show off, just in case.

Leave a Reply

