Electrical components – 4 Nov 2015.

More progress with “Rhino” the V7Sport.

Over the past week I have fitted every bit of electrical equipment I could find to Rhino. This is without any actual wiring being done so that I can then build my own loom cable by cable.

Headlight.

DSCF1884-1

The light unit will have to be changed. I really like the look of the old type of lamp with a “tripod” mounted bulb shield but, this unit dips the wrong way for UK roads and is for an old style bulb. I want a halogen unit. I’ll probably buy the same Wipac unit that I fitted to the “Fire Bike”.

DSCF1885-1

Starter button.

The original has been fitted to the brake lever. It looks a bit rough.

DSCF1887-1

Starter relay.

I removed the starter motor temporarily so that I could mount the relay bracket over the neutral switch on the gearbox.

DSCF1888-1

The terminals on the relay had to be bent so that they would clear the solenoid on the starter motor.

DSCF1890-1

DSCF1891-1

Then I remembered that I don’t need this massive relay with the later starter motor I’ve fitted in place of the lightweight original. A smaller universal one will be enough. I’ll still be able to hide it up under the original rubber relay cover.

Regulator and rectifier.

These both mount on brackets which fit to the top frame rails and to the front of the frame above a cross tube.

DSCF1892-1

The crimp on tag is just there to remind me which of the rectifier mounting screws is the earth.

In the next picture you can see that the front mounting bracket is offset. This is important because the mounting tabs on the rear bracket are the same width as those on the frame rails and both go to the right of the frame brackets – not both inside or both outside.

DSCF1893-1

DSCF1896-1

Ignition coils.

These are the original coils. They’ve been tested and appear to still be fine.

DSCF1898-1

Each coil has similar mounting hardware.

DSCF1901-1

One is mounted on a frame bracket down between the cylinders.

DSCF1902-1

The other below the top frame rail.

DSCF1904-1

DSCF1906-1

The twin horns.

These are mounted to the front of the frame on sort of laminated brackets. Each horn is on three thin strips. The contacts on one horn are paired so that the other can be wired in parallel. You can just see the front mount for the regulator in this photo.

DSCF1909-1

I run the wires round behind the frame bracket.

DSCF1911-1

Under-seat light.

Yes, that’s right, the V7Sport has an under-seat light. This is designed to illuminate the fuse box when the seat is lifted. Less kind folks have said this is because of the less than reliable Guzzi electrics. The bike hasn’t had one during my ownership but, when I saw this reproduction, I thought “why not?” There were two holes in the right hand tool box to fit it to.

DSCF1912-1

Fuse box.

I still have the very rare original fuse box which goes on the top of the rear mudguard’s fixed plastic section.

DSCF1914-1

This fuse box has been the source of most of the electrical faults I’ve had in the past. Any others have been due to bad grounding (earthing) of components. Anyway, I have screwed it in place for now.

My choice is to dismantle and rebuild the fuse box completely or substitute something more modern. The original has the benefit of doubled terminals and internal links that make the wiring easy. The downside is that the fuses (the old ceramic type) and contacts get loose or corrode and cause bad connections. There are signs of melted plastic and once when I went over a particularly bad bump a fuse jumped out of its holder. As I write this the more I’m coming round to the idea of replacement in the interests of usability. I can always keep the original “in case”.

One thought on “Electrical components – 4 Nov 2015.

Leave a Reply

