V-Twin Rally – 28 to 31 Aug 2015.

Over the August Bank Holiday weekend I attended the Moto Guzzi Club GB V-Twin Rally on the V7 Fire Bike. It’s one of my favorite events and was held at the riverside sports ground in Fordingbridge, Hampshire as has been the case for the last twelve years or so. I’ve been a regular visitor to these rallies for 15 years. Sadly this is to be the last “V-Twin”, at least in its current format. Apart from this year, attendances have been down and running at a financial loss to the club.

Fordingbridge is on the edge of The New Forest and entails a journey of about 200 miles each way from my home in West Wales. The forecast was for showers but I set off without my waterproofs on and got away with it. The sky was grey and the wet roads were evidence of heavy rain at times but it missed me! It was fairly sunny on arrival so I set up the tent in a quiet corner before going shopping for supplies.

V7 at 2015 V-twin-1

There were probably about 400 bikes at the rally and a large proportion joined the Saturday morning parade around the town. V-Twin motorcycles of all makes are welcome at the rally and on the parade. The majority were Guzzis with Harley-Davidsons next. Victory, KTM, Ducati and Morini were represented as well this year along with some 180° V-Twins from BMW!

Here I am in the parade. It’s not a good photo and is a still from a video of part of the parade.

New_1_V7 in parade

The evenings were spent sampling the beer, talking rubbish and listening to the bands in the marquee. On the Sunday I took a ride to Sammy Miller’s Motorcycle Museum which is well worth the trip.

During the weekend for some reason I didn’t take many photos. Here are the ones I took of “my” type of Guzzi.

V7Sport Telaio Rosso Replica.

DSCF1815-1

A well looked after red V7Sport

DSCF1810-1

There weren’t any 750S or S3 this year.

His and her V7s belonging to a couple from the Netherlands.

DSCF1811-1

DSCF1819-1

There were also these two nice loopframe Californias.

DSCF1814-1

DSCF1809-1

I had to include a picture of this Le Mans outfit ridden from Belgium.

DSCF1820-1

On the Sunday night awards are given for longest distance traveled to the rally, the concours and best engineered bike. There is also the Mayor’s Choice award which I won with The Fire Bike!

DSCF1821-1

I woke on the Monday morning to the sound of rain on the tent. It continued as I packed the bike and pretty much rained most of the way back to the Severn bridge into Wales.

I’m really enjoying riding the V7. I’m happy to keep the speed down and to take it easy and it’s such a relaxed ride. You can’t hide with a bike like this. Every time I stop there seems to be someone who wants to talk about it.

UPDATE; Keith from the Squadra Guzzista Forum had a better photo of me on the V7 Fire Bike in the Fordingbridge V-twin Parade .

DSCN0470_zpsw07qywid

One thought on “V-Twin Rally – 28 to 31 Aug 2015.

Leave a Reply

