My poor old friend – 21 Oct 2014.

This morning a full size articulated car transporter pulled up outside my house. All that was on it was my 750S3. It took some work to get it off the lorry as the front wheel doesn’t turn. I took a brake caliper off as it was on a broken disk but the wheel is too buckled and jammed on the mudguard to turn.

As if it wasn’t bust up enough, the salvage/transport company had broken the GIVI rack while they had it. They must have tried to lift the bike by the cast aluminium rack – plonkers! All the damage was to the front end till then.

The bike was left at the end of my (uphill) driveway so two friends were called upon to drag it to the workshop. The front wheel was strapped down to a trolley jack which was then pulled with a rope while the rest of us stopped it falling over. I say “us” but I didn’t do an awful lot. My arm is still in plaster. The cast comes off tomorrow, hopefully for good, then the real work begins getting the use and strength back in my right arm and wrist.

Here is the sad truth

DSCF0997

The front wheel has ended up against the right hand exhaust header pipe so the forks are bent back and to the side. The impact has also turned the forks so hard that they have over-ridden the lock stop on the frame by bending it back.

DSCF1001

The left hand front brake rotor has been smashed. The brake caliper has been tied up out of the way by me in an effort to free off the front wheel. There is no sign of the horn!

DSCF0999

This side of the wheel shows the big dent in the Borrani valanced rim. I would think it takes quite a bit of force to bend one of those. What you can’t see is how buckled the wheel is. The tyre has stayed up.

DSCF1008

Although the forks are bent, the yokes appear to have survived. I can’t tell for sure if the frame is straight without at least taking off the tank and I can’t do that at the moment. I need to examine the steering head. The ignition switch isn’t in the centre of the fuel tank cut out but I’m hoping that’s just because the tank is “on the huh” (that’s Suffolk for not straight).

DSCF1003

The fuel tank has gained this scratch which has pushed the metal in. No idea what did it. The round mark is where the end of the handlebar grip was pushed on the tank. I moved it.

Generally, provided the steering head is ok, the damage doesn’t look too severe and the bike is repairable. This really should be done if remotely possible as it’s a rare bike which is eminently usable. Having said that, at least the complete front end will need to be replaced.

I’ll take a look at the steering head and, if it’s good enough, I’ll probably sell the bike as a lump for someone else to rebuild. I’ve got some other bits that can go with it. I will only consider breaking it if the frame is so bad that it’s not repairable and that would be going some on a Tonti Guzzi. The vultures have already started circling but I will fight them off for now.

3 thoughts on “My poor old friend – 21 Oct 2014.

    1. I’m not sure I will. I took the seat and fuel tank off yesterday. The two frame rails which run from the steering head for the full length of the bike are bent just in front of the big cross peice that joins them to the top tube, sort of above the carbs. The top tube is in line but is twisted to one side and you can see a bend in the right hand steering head gusset. The left hand front down tube that goes to the front engine bolt is bent and I think the right hand one might be as well. There’s probably other stuff that I’ll find when I get the bike up on my friends bike jack. I noticed that the alternator cover is dented and cracked as well.

      I had hoped to sell the bike to someone else to rebuild.

Leave a Reply

