Nice shiny bits – 8 Apr 2014.

I collected my parts from the powder coater today. They are now residing on my nice clear bench so I can go and look at them from time to time! I’m too busy sanding and refinishing parquet flooring to have any garage time.DSCF0365

I’m pleased with how they have turned out.DSCF0369 The frame and swing arm are silver and the stands, battery tray etc are gloss black. The parts for the instrument cluster are in satin black. I’ve had the footrest hangers finished in powder coat as the original zinc plate on them was long gone. I didn’t think they were good enough to replate. While I was at it, I had the big side stand and frame rail for the S3 done at the same time.

I had the work done by AWP Engineering in Pembrokeshire who were helpful, friendly and had it all done in a week. They masked all the threads and bearing lands properly and made sure nothing got lost! The bonus was that they are just under an hour away. I wasn’t keen on sending my stuff to the Midlands.

AWP have a website http://www.awpengineering.co.uk

As it’s all DIY for the moment, I won’t be able to make much progress with Rhino for now. I’m making a shopping list of parts needed. Unfortunately they’re all the expensive ones.

One thought on “Nice shiny bits – 8 Apr 2014.

  1. Second hand or ebay are a good way to source parts. There is so much choice with the internet today. Look forward to your next picture. I am just getting to the last two parts to put my california back on the road after 7 years in the open. I know what you are going through. Keep persisting. Vincenzo

Leave a Reply

